By:  PDG Lawrence Furbish, Chair, District Bylaws Committee, Sanford-Springvale RC
District 7780 is governed by a set of Bylaws that can be found on our District Website at under the Committee dropdown menu and the Bylaws Committee. The last time our Bylaws were amended was in June, 2023.
Any club can propose amendments to the Bylaws by submitting them to the District Governor no later than 75 days prior to the Annual District Business meeting. This year, that deadline will be April 15th, 2024.
All proposed amendments are reviewed by the District Bylaws Committee to ensure that they are consistent with the Rotary International Governance Documents and are in keeping with the spirit and principles of Rotary.
The District Governor must forward copies of all proposed amendments and any recommendations of the Bylaws Committee to each District club president no later than 30 days prior to the Annual Business Meeting. This meeting is currently scheduled for June 29. To be adopted, proposed amendments must receive a three-fourths majority of the votes cast at the Annual Business Meeting.
The current members of the Bylaws Committee are Lawrence Furbish, chair, Bob Stephan of the Damariscotta-Newcastle Rotary Club, and Mae Bradshaw of the Exeter Rotary Club. In addition, DG Marion Cheney and District Parliamentarian Dan Fitzpatrick are ex-officio members and our Council on Legislation and Council on Resolutions representative, Peggy Belanger, is a non-voting member. Feel free to reach out to any of these Rotarians if you have questions.